Tea and Red Lanterns

Red Lanterns

I have been to the ballet this evening to see a Chinese Ballet adaptation of Raise the Red Lantern. In preparation for the ballet experience, I revisited the movie on the weekend and was pleased to discover a tea connection that I had missed; the story is set in motion by the death of the protagonist’s father, a tea merchant. The film of “Raise the Red Lantern”, directed by Zhang Yimou and starring Gong Li, is a sumptuous tragedy that I highly recommend.  The ballet contained no tea but was spectacular, nonetheless.

(When I was in China a few years ago I visited the mansion house where the film was shot. I had struggled to find transport to the remote countryside location and ended up taking a taxi-cab, much to the amusement and surprise of the Chinese tourists there!)

Leave a Reply

