Inspirations: Fly Butterfly Fly

Butterflies in Window Butterflies in Window Closeup

Every second day or so I walk with my two little guys down the hill, ostensibly to the playground but actually to the op-shop opposite. We have a little deal going that makes us all happy.

On one such walk I noticed butterflies fixed to the windows of a nearby house. Don’t they look sweet and old fashioned?

My sister has a particular love for butterflies and I guess I love them too, because a quick search through some of my “cuttings” yielded a number of examples of butterfly motifs used in decoration and art.

Butterfy Decor Image 1

Butterfly Cuttings Montage

The first image is from Elle, unknown date, Italian edition and I believe it features the house of Barnaba Fornasetti. In the second photograph is a detail of the “Geisha” print by Jasper Goodall, and at bottom right a papercut called “Marguerite and the Butterflies” by a company that is now known as The Gently Unfurling Sneak. The vintage records transformed into butterflies are by Paul Villinski for the New York Museum of Art and Design, and I urge you to check out his work if you like butterflies!

Leave a Reply

