Seven Minute Soak

Luxury Bath Accoutrements

A bath is one of life’s simplest luxuries, but I have idealised the humble bath to the point that I feel like it’s not worth doing unless all the accoutrements are in place. Which is weird because I once lived in a house where there was no shower: baths were practical, pragmatic and in winter they were lightening fast and not relaxing at all.

My ideal bath involves at least a scented additive for the water (salts, oil, bubbles and I’ve even tried bath tea), a calming drink, a candle, low lighting and time stretching out ahead like a road in the countryside. Needless to say I haven’t had a bath in the last year and since moving to this house, with tub at the top of the house hunting wish-list, I have put it off because the conditions weren’t right.

Yesterday I planned it. I collected some flowers and petals for the water, rounded up a loofah and dug out some jasmine tea oil that I have carried around for years… the candles are still in boxes somewhere but I was willing to cope. But instead of a quiet time after dinner we had a sad bambino, who seems to have a bothersome new tooth emerging, shrieking the house down. Down the proverbial plughole went my perfect conditions.

I was disappointed, but it’s something I really have to get used to. I can’t wait for the right time or the right amount of time to get things done any more. I have to just start, do what I can, and then catch up later if I have to.

So today during nap time I ran the water, arranged everything again, ignored the fact that low lighting was impossible at 10am, immersed myself in the shimmering water and imagined I was Cleopatra. About 40 seconds later I heard quiet babbling from the babies’ room. It didn’t sound upset so I didn’t jump up, I concentrated on my feet. I gave my feet a thorough, yet gentle, luxury spa experience. Eventually the noises from the little guys were more urgent but I got about seven minutes of sweet, relaxorama.

 
Next time I’ll concentrate on another small body part and maybe eventually, instead of seeking the perfect bath, I will perfect the seven minute soak.

Luxury Bath Flowers

Luxury Bath Arrangement Original Luxury Bath Oil and Loofah

Luxury Bath Soap Close Up

One thought on “Seven Minute Soak

  1. Pingback: MONA: The Ultimate Hoard | Many Cha Cha

Leave a Reply

