Warming the Cockles of My Heart

Rooibos Vanilla Chai Autumn Fall Leaves Vintage Teacup

I’ve been wanting to “warm the cockles of my heart” by physically increasing my core temperature with a soothing beverage. But it seems that I’d missed the subtlety of this funny old idiom, which also refers to the heart as an emotional centre. (The word “cockles” is attributed a number of origins, usually relating to the idea of chambers).

In my hunt for a soothing, warm beverage I came across this Rooibos Vanilla Chai by The Art of Tea, a local Tasmanian company that I have mentioned before. I usually steer clear of faddish excuses for “chai” , which are often just powdered milk, sugar and perhaps some cinnamon. Spiced blends can be hit-or-miss, and I think the outcome boils down (haha) to the skill of the person preparing the tea anyway. I chose this because it sounded like an unusual alternative.

Rooibos Vanilla Chai Autumn Fall Leaves Art of Tea Tasmania

I’ve tended to enjoy rooibos as a reviving, rehydrating choice in warm weather. I wasn’t sure whether it would work as a “chai” so I tried it without milk first and that was very smooth. With milk, the vanilla complements the rooibos beautifully. The spices in this blend are not overpowering at all, adding just a touch of flavour and warmth.

I haven’t yet brewed this up on the stove as a traditional milky chai but to be honest I think the appeal is that it provides that comforting feeling without the trouble. Plus, it tastes great without sugar.

Best of all, since it is caffeine-free, I can enjoy a warm milky rooibos chai late into the evening. It means I can heat my insides just before going to bed on a frosty night, and I find that idea pretty heartwarming.

Rooibos Vanilla Chai Autumn Fall Leaves Vintage Drum Teacup

Leave a Reply

