Scandinavian Squishions

Home decor is riding a Scandi- inspired minimalism wave at the moment and I love it, even if I struggle to live it. But I still often find myself drawn to the bold, colourful, graphic version of Scandinavian style.

Scandi Squishions Cushions Marimekko Ikea Make Vintage

There are plenty of online resources that provide eye-candy of this northern European variety, but finding them usually means navigating the web in other languages!

I really love the work of Supertrooper Studio (check out this Melbourne collection) and Lotta Jensdotter (here are some of her ideas for projects with fabric scraps). Blogs that have caught my eye include Mamamekko, Anna Weinreich, Marsipan og Smilefjes and Dos Family. You will need google translate if you want to read the words but you might find the images are enough.

For take-home inspiration, check out the book list by Editions Paumes, which includes “Nordic Deco Ideas for Kids’ Rooms”. These are in Japanese but again, the pictures are so gorgeous, who is reading the words anyway?

Meanwhile, since my kids enjoy colour so much, to the point where they will argue over whose favourite colour is what, I decided to bring some of this brightness into our home. I also wanted to make beanbags for them but I didn’t want those hideous polystyrene beads. So I invented a squishy, pyramid-shaped lounging article, filled with futon stuffing, that I have called a “squishion”. Squishions are very easy to make.

I collected my equipment: various bright fabrics (including some Marimekko and Ikea scraps, to ensure I was channelling a little bit of Sweden and Finland into my design), ruler, chalk, scissors, thread, stuffing and my sewing machine — which is not a Husqvarna.

_DSC0278

Using the chalk, I marked a large triangle onto my biggest piece of fabric. I then used this as the template for all my other triangles. The size and shape of the original triangle will affect the finished product, of course, but I didn’t really fuss and I didn’t make a record of the dimensions. That’s one of the key things that makes this project really easy.

I used the colourful scraps to make 4 triangles of that same size, then I sewed the triangles together as shown below.

Scandinavian Style Cushions Make Tutorial How To Scandi

I stitched those two final edges together to complete the pyramid shape. Next, ensuring that the “right side” was up, I folded the points in towards the centre and pinned the edges together before sewing them in place. See the underside of a completed squishion, below, to see the effect that this creates. I made sure that I left an arm-sized hole in my seam so that I could stuff the squishion, before hand-sewing the gap shut.

IMG_5925

And voila! Two squishy cushions which my boys enjoy rolling, jumping and lolling upon.

IMG_5977

Although in all honesty, they have been most useful next to their (yes, Scandi) beds as a soft landing for those horrible moments in the night when they fall out… Which still happens quite a bit.

In the meantime I’m dreaming of one day visiting Northern Europe, where I’ll be happy to experience either the minimalist or maximalist version of their very stylish decor.

Scandi Family Style Cushions Make Pattern Retro Bright

Leave a Reply

